Simple Coleslaw

I don’t know what it is about the word “Coleslaw” but it never looks like it is spelled right to me.  Maybe because I have never actually pronounced it like it’s supposed to be, it’s either “Slaw” or “Coslaw”.   Blame it on Texas.

Anyways. It’s really simple to make.  I mean, really really simple.

I cheat and buy the prepacked cut up cabbage.   If you for some reason are morally against this, feel free to buy some cabbage and cut it up, add some shredded carrots to it.

This recipe is for two bags, and a lot of people.  For a smaller version, just divide by 2.

IMG_2812.JPG

In a bowl mix the dry ingredients:

3/4 Cup of Sugar

3/4 Tablespoon Onion Powder

1 Teaspoon Salt

1/4 Teaspoon Black Pepper

 

IMG_2811

Then then add the wet ingredients and whisk together

5 Tablespoons of Lemon Juice

3 Tablespoons of Vinegar

1/3 Cup Buttermilk

3/4 Cup of Milk

1.5 Cups of Miracle Whip or Mayo

IMG_2814.JPG

I didn’t start out with a big enough bowl, so make sure you don’t run into that problem like I did….No need to ruin perfectly clean dishes.

IMG_2815.JPG

Then quickly toss with the cabbage/carrot mixture and refrigerate.

I told you it was easy.  Stupid Easy.

Also, vinegar and lemon juice can mess with regular milk…so don’t leave the wet ingredients sitting alone for to long.   I don’t know if it would do anything, but I do know you can make buttermilk by adding those two to regular milk….so I don’t risk it.

 

It needs to be cold when you serve it, it will take a few hours.  Make sure to mix it up before serving, some of the liquid will pool at the bottom.

Enjoy!

IMG_2819.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

